The Endurance World Championship: Fernando Alonso’s Last Challenge

Following numerous successes in Formula 1, Fernando Alonso has also launched into other categories of motoring. One of these is the WEC (World Endurance Championship)
The Endurance World Championship: Fernando Alonso's latest challenge

Following numerous successes in Formula 1, Fernando Alonso has also launched into other categories of motoring. One of these is the WEC (World Endurance Championship) which we will talk about in this article.

Now far from Formula 1, the Spanish motoring star Fernando Alonso has launched himself towards another of the most competitive categories in the world, the World Endurance Championship. Do you already know what it is? Let’s see it together.

It is an official competition organized by the International Automobile Federation. The cars of the major teams such as BMW, Toyota, Aston Martin, Ford and Porsche take part together with other emerging ones such as Rebellion Racing, SMP Racing, Dragon Speed ​​and MR Racing and many others.

The World Endurance Championship has now reached its seventh edition. However, the 2018-2019 edition was the first to take place every six months.

World Endurance Championship: what it consists of

The World Endurance Championship is structured into 4 categories, based on the vehicles used. The division takes into account the horsepower of the engine, the capacity of the fuel tank and the weight of the car, as well as of course the level of the drivers. So we find these four categories:

  • LMGTE AM: 500 bhp, 900-1200 liters of fuel and a minimum weight of 1245 kg. Each team must have 2 drivers who have won bronze or one who has won silver.
  • LMGTE PRO: as above, but without limitations as regards the category of pilots.
  • LMP2: 600 bhp, 75 liters of fuel and a minimum weight of 930 kg.
  • LMP1. more than 1000 bhp, 62.3-75 liters of fuel and minimum weight of 833 kg. Drivers who have won bronze are not allowed.
Endurance World Championship

Each team consists of three drivers. The qualifying laps are carried out in sessions of 20 minutes each; one for the LMGTEs and another for the LMPs. Another special feature is the scoring system, which varies for the 6-hour race, the 1000-mile Sebring and the 24-hour Le Mans.

The 2018-2019 season of the category sees the participation of 25 teams and more than 30 drivers. In addition, 8 races take place, including the 2018-2019 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans

The famous 24 hour race of Le Mans is part of the World Endurance Championship. This is an endurance test that takes place every June in the Sarthe circuit, in the French city of Le Mans.

What sets this race apart is its duration and purpose. The winning driver is the one who managed to run the greatest distance in the 24 hours of the competition.

Although teams were once made up of two pilots or even just one, nowadays safety measures are more restrictive. Each team must be able to count on 3 drivers and none of them can drive for more than four consecutive hours or more than 14 in total.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans aims to test the reliability of the cars, as well as, of course, their speed. it is undoubtedly a unique race in the world. Porsche (19 wins), Audi (13) and Ferrari (9) are the teams that have won the most championships, while as far as the drivers are concerned, the Dane Tom Kristensen has achieved the most wins (9).

Fernando Alonso’s performance in the WEC

After leaving Formula 1 in the 2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Alonso has decided to participate in iconic racing in the world of motoring. For this reason he competed in the World Endurance Championship, and in this race too the results were not long in coming.

Fernando Alonso

On board his Toyota, the Asturian triumphed in the 1000 miles of Sebring. In addition, he managed to conquer the 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps in Belgium.

Furthermore, previously, in January of the same year Alonso had qualified first in the 24 Hours of Daytona. However, he failed to qualify for the Indianapolis 500, a missing piece in the award-winning career.

However, it has already been announced that the Spaniard will not be part of the team for the 2019-2020 World Endurance Championship season; his last race will be Le Mans in June. Brendon Hartley, a former Formula 1 driver, will take his place.

At the moment little is known about Fernando Alonso’s future. Nonetheless, one thing is certain: if he manages to win the WEC this season, where he is still competing with his team, he will be able to add yet another prize to his flawless career as a driver.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button